The three books of Shama


The three books of Shama


Benjamin Kwakye



Spanning multiple continents and countries, including Rwanda, the United States, and Ghana, The Three Books of Shama is an epic chronicle of the fictional life story of Rwandan-born Shama Rugwe, from her survival of the Rwandan genocide to her migration to the United States and her eventual nomination to the United States Supreme Court. All hell breaks loose following her nomination, with the ensuing Senate confirmation hearings and the opposition to her nomination exposing stubborn xenophobic beliefs, as well as gender, racial, and religious biases. Benjamin Kwakye is a Ghanaian novelist. His first novel, The Clothes of Nakedness, won the 1999 Commonwealth Writers Prize, best first book, Africa. His second novel, The Sun by Night won the 2006 Commonwealth Writers' Prize, Best Book Africa. His third novel, The Other Crucifix won the 2011 IPPY Gold Award for Adult Multicultural Fiction. He is also the author of a collection of novellas, Eyes of the Slain Woman. A graduate of Dartmouth College and Harvard Law School, he presently practices law and is a director of the African Education Initiative.




Cissus World Press

The three books of Shama

Catalog Record